skip navigation

O'Leary, Olson earn Mariucci Awards

By MHCA, 03/04/16, 10:00PM CST


Coach of the year awards go to Wayzata, LDC coaches.

The Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association has named its 2016 section coach of the year recipients along with the John Mariucci Award winners as the state coach of the year.

The Mariucci Award winner for Class AA is Pat O’Leary of Wayzata. The Section 6AA coach of the year in 2013, O’Leary has led the Trojans to the state tournament for the second time in four years, where his team will face Grand Rapids in the semifinals this evening.

The Class A head coach of the year is Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato’s Chris Olson. This year’s state tournament appearance marks the second time the Dragons have reached the Xcel Energy Center under his guidance.

Assistant coach of the year awards went to Steve Olinger of Eden Prairie in Class AA and Dave Swanberg of LeSueur/Henderson/St. Peter/Tri-City United Cleveland in Class A.

This year’s academic state champions are the Owatonna Huskies, under the guidance of Josh Storm, with a team GPA of 3.71, in Class AA, and Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato, which posted a team cumulative grade point average of 3.71, in Class A. The Class A award for Chris Olson and the Dragons is their second in a row and sixth in the last seven years.

Section 1AA Section 1A
Head Coach—Greg May, Farmington Head Coach—Curtis Doell, Mankato West
Assistant Coach—Jay Phillips, Farmington Assistant Coach—Dave Swanberg, LSHSPTCUC Bulldogs
Section 2AA Section 2A
Head Coach—Brian Urick, Minnetonka Head Coach—Patrick Lenton, Waconia
Assistant Coach—Steve Olinger, Eden Prairie Assistant Coach—Chad Wagner, Delano
Section 3AA Section 3A
Head Coach—Janne Kivihalme, Burnsville Head Coach—Chris Olson, Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato
Assistant Coach—Dan Boeser, Burnsville Assistant Coach—Craig McKechney, Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato
Section 4AA Section 4A
Head Coach—Ray Sierakowski/Steve Romanchuk, Tartan Head Coach—Pat Griswold, Minnehaha Academy
Assistant Coach—Cole Lietch, Tartan Assistant Coach—Eddie Wynne, St. Paul Academy & Summit School
Section 5AA Section 5A
Head Coach—Todd Manthey, Anoka^ Head Coach—Jeff Hanson, Princeton
Assistant Coach—Joe Law, Centennial Assistant Coach—Jeff Nelson, Monticello-Annandale-Maple Lake
Section 6AA Section 6A
Head Coach—Pat O’Leary, Wayzata Head Coach—Tony Couture, Little Falls
Assistant Coach—Bill Rooney, Wayzata Assistant Coach—Tom Bruce, St. Cloud Cathedral
Section 7AA Section 7A
Head Coach—Trent Klatt, Grand Rapids Head Coach—Grant Clafton, Greenway
Assistant Coach—Kyle Young, Cloquet-Esko-Carlton Assistant Coach—Matt Swanson, Hermantown
Section 8AA Section 8A
Head Coach—Wade Chiodo, Bemidji^ Head Coach—Tim Bergland, Thief River Falls
Assistant Coach—Eric Monsrud, Bemidji Assistant Coach—Scott Bergland, Thief River Falls
Class AA John Mariucci Award-State Coach of the Year Class A John Mariucci Award-State Coach of the Year
Head Coach—Pat O’Leary, Wayzata Head Coach—Chris Olson, Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato
Assistant Coach—Steve Olinger, Eden Prairie Assistant Coach—Dave Swanberg, LSHSPTCUC Bulldogs
^-Repeat winner from 2015
Section 1AA Section 1A
Owatonna, 3.71 GPA (Josh Storm)^ LSHSPTCUC Bulldogs, 3.54 GPA (Shea Roehrkasse)^^
Section 2AA Section 2A
Shakopee, 3.40 GPA (Ed Loiselle) Delano, 3.67 GPA (Gerrit van Bergen)^
Section 3AA Section 3A
Eastview, 3.68 GPA (Drey Bradley)^ Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato, 3.71 GPA (Chris Olson)^
Section 4AA Section 4A
Woodbury, 3.65 GPA (Wes Bolin) South St. Paul, 3.61 GPA (Scott Macho)
Section 5AA Section 5A
Centennial, 3.45 GPA (Ritch Mennie) Pine City/Rush City, 3.45 GPA (Grant Nicoll)^
Section 6AA Section 6A
Wayzata, 3.56 GPA (Pat O’Leary) Little Falls, 3.63 GPA (Tony Couture)
Section 7AA Section 7A
Cloquet-Esko-Carlton, 3.64 GPA (Dave Esse) North Shore, 3.61 GPA (Mike Guzzo)
Section 8AA Section 8A
Moorhead, 3.70 GPA (Jon Ammerman)^ Warroad, 3.56 GPA (Jay Hardwick)
Class AA State Academic Champion Class A State Academic Champion
Owatonna, 3.71 GPA (Josh Storm) Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato, 3.71 GPA (Chris Olson)^
^-Repeat winner from 2015
^^-Repeat winner from 2014 and 2015